Who Do You Think I Am?
Who Do You Think I Am?
Eavesdrop on a radio station branding voiceover session
2
0:00
-11:54

Eavesdrop on a radio station branding voiceover session

No-one outside the studio EVER gets to hear this stuff.
2

This session audio gives you a behind-the-scenes insight into how a pro voiceover approaches a radio station branding script.


Share


An example of radio station branding is when you hear a voiceover saying the name of the station, its frequency (for instance, “You’re listening to Dubai Eye 103.8.”).

The bits where you hear the station’s phone number, presenter names, competitions, news intros and so on - they’re all examples of radio station branding.

Voicing this stuff might seem like a doddle. It’s just little bits of lines, innit?

How hard can it be?


It’s a delicate business.

The voice has to embody the radio station’s brand values. The voice must match the music style, the presenting style, the age and culture of the target audience and even its logo.

To do that, the read of each line has to nail all those objectives.

It really is proper difficult.


Share


In this podcast, you’ll hear me tweaking the direction of my delivery ever so slightly.

These are all the bits nobody ever gets to hear.

It’s totally, completely ‘behind-the-scenes.’

If you like my stuff, you can buy me a coffee!

Thanks for reading Who Do You Think I Am? Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

2 Comments
Who Do You Think I Am?
Who Do You Think I Am?
A behind-the-scenes earful straight from a sound artist's studio to your inbox, designed to inspire curiosity.