Who Do You Think I Am?
Who Do You Think I Am?
What happens when heavy machinery is being used right outside your sound studio?
0:00
-6:30

What happens when heavy machinery is being used right outside your sound studio?

And your electricity goes off at the same time. How would you cope?

Listen to the audio above. You can also read the short article below.

Sometimes you’ve just gotta surrender to events.

As I write this, a massive digger is churning up my driveway.* There’s also the occasional pneumatic drill.

It’s not so much the noise. It’s the vibration that’s the issue.

Have a listen to what the sound-proofing is managing to cut out.

0:00
-0:26

You see what I’m up against?

The electricity keeps getting turned off as the engineers fix a cable. It’s also snowing. This means we have little or no heating.

As you can imagine, it’s a right laugh.

This is in no way conducive to creating ideal working conditions here at the sound studio at Clarke Gables.

So how to handle it?

Have a listen to the audio at the top of the page and find out.

*At this point I’m very glad we didn’t go ahead with the block paving.

Share


Thanks for reading Who Do You Think I Am? Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Who Do You Think I Am?
Who Do You Think I Am?
A behind-the-scenes earful straight from a sound artist's studio to your inbox, designed to inspire curiosity.